National Honor Society inducts new members


Katie Cottrill, Staff Writer

On April 12, Seymour High School’s National Honor Society inducted 56 new members into their program. This honor has strict requirements for membership. First semester sophomores or juniors who carry a 3.7 or higher cumulative GPA are invited to apply to N.H.S. In addition to completing a paper application, students also submit two letters of recommendation from a teacher and community member, write an in-person essay, and provide evidence of community service.

After this process, the selected inductees were finally accepted or “tapped” by current officers on March 28. They were greeted in the Media Center by the current members who formed a tunnel and cheered them into the room.   

To remain a member of good standing in N.H.S., students must attend the monthly meetings, have 40 hours of community service with 5 hours each quarter and an additional 20 hours in the school calendar year, and maintain a 3.7 GPA. Next year’s candidates must carry a 3.9 GPA. 

What does membership in N.H.S. mean? Besides being part of a national and prestigious group, SHS students wear cords at graduation to indicate this honor, and will also participate in the Day of Caring volunteer event on May 9. Many colleges look for this accomplishment on applications to separate the candidates for admission.

The NHS officers are Brandon Rodriguez (President), Sam Baker (Vice President), Nicole Rebber (Secretary), and Ashlyn Henderson (Reporter). The new members include Ben Beavers, Macie Brewer, Michael Brooks, Hailey Burke, Myles Chandler, Claire Combs, Kylee Cooper, Katie Cottrill, Thai Daraswad, Ashley Darlage, Donovan Delgadillo, Eli Downey, Xavier DuBois, Aubri Engle, Tori Fee, Juan Fernandez, Mattie Findley, Abby Followell, Valeria Galicia, Kylie Grove, Brady Harpe, Patrick Hatfield, Greer Henry, Jay Herbert, Addison Hunsley, Alana Jacobi, Elizabeth Kirby, Averie Linville, Keira Linville, Jake Loebker, Lucero Martinez, Audrey Newkirk, Willow Nowland, Braxton Parker, Bryce Peters, CJ Polley, Wes Proffer, Ross Pumphrey, Braden Richey, Allison Rodriguez, Claire Sanders, Ismael Santiago Cruz, Cole Simmons, Evah Snyder, Ava Sunbury, Alexys Thompson, Dylan Thompson, Parker Thompson, Shayla Thompson, Emma Tormoehlen, Ty Tormoehlen, Phoebe Underwood, Gavin Wilson, Emily Windley, Maddy Wirtz, and Abram Yee.

Congratulations to the new members.